Moving to the city.

March 4, 2009 at 12:46 am 7 comments

I’m moving to my Aunt’s old house in 3-6 weeks, and I haven’t started to pack yet.   Personally I’m thinking it’s too soon to pack, but I also don’t want to be left doing this at the last minute so maybe I’ll start soon by sorting through everything and getting rid of the things I don’t need.  The plan is to go to the house a week in advance and do some heavy duty cleaning so all I’ll have to do on moving day is bring my stuff in and take my time unpacking.  I’m not even sure if I will unpack most of the stuff since I’m only there to get the house in selling shape and get it sold.   Any good moving and packing tips?

The good news is I won’t have to share a kitchen area anymore, and holy crap, that’s going to be sweet.

The bad news is my Grandma died in that house, and even though I loved her, I’m thoroughly creeped out by that.   I’m going to be there alone and I don’t want to hear any funny noises or see anything out of the corner of my eye, if you know what I’m saying.   Don’t mess with me, Grandma!    I say this because she would mess with me, and she’d love every second of it.  That woman was a little joker, and let’s face it, a little mean.

Also, I get a panicky feeling when I’m in the basement.  Not exaggerating:  I feel like there’s someone there, watching me, going to sneak up behind me, and my gut instinct* is to RUN out of there like my life depends on it.  I really am filled with fear when it comes to the damn basement.  Sadly, that’s where the washer and dryer are.  How long can I go without doing laundry?   That is the question.

*If you have anything to say, please, PLEASE, do not tell me to listen to my instincts.  Tell me it will be ok, and that I’m crazy for feeling this way about a harmless yet totally scary basement.  And maybe stroke my hair while you’re at it?  Thanks.

Entry filed under: Daily.

Clarence Carter be strokin’. Gonna hit ya witcha own pimp!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DarcKnyt  |  March 4, 2009 at 1:30 am

    Falcon always impresses the heck out of movers with her “system”. Maybe she’ll tell ya about it.

    As far as getting stuff into the boxes, well … there’s only one good way to do that. Sorry.

    Good luck. May nothing go bump in the night.

    Reply
    • 2. Stranger  |  March 4, 2009 at 1:38 am

      I need a system. Maybe she’ll let me borrow hers?

      Fingers are crossed for no bumps in the night. Thanks.

  • 3. whatigotsofar  |  March 4, 2009 at 9:18 am

    I last moved about ten years ago. There’s still a couple of boxes I’ve yet to unpack.

    Reply
  • 4. whatigotsofar  |  March 4, 2009 at 9:19 am

    By the way, like the hooters at the top of page. Reminds me of that mechanical owl from Clash of the Titans.

    Reply
    • 5. Stranger  |  March 4, 2009 at 12:50 pm

      Bubo! I loved that owl. What a great movie that was. Now I feel like watching it again.

  • 6. whatigotsofar  |  March 4, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    How can anybody not love Clash of the Titans??? Go watch it, RIGHT NOW!

    Reply
  • 7. DarcsFalcon  |  March 5, 2009 at 1:55 am

    Moving? Hey, I have a sys… oh, you’ve been told already! I can put together an email with links for buying boxes and describing how I do it, if you’d like.

    As for the basement, here, put your head on my shoulder so I can hug you and stroke your hair like I do with my daughter. Everything will be all right. There are no scary monsters in the basement. I promise. Want a cookie? Better yet, how about some ice cream?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Days Go By

March 2009
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

About

Stranger obviously isn't my real name, but it's close enough. I'm a woman in my late twenties, live in the midwest, and I blog a lot about nothing, although not often. You're welcome.

Questions, love letters, and hate mail can be sent to: typewords at gmail.com, and I can be found on Twitter.

Finally, my only rule for commenting is: play nice and don't be a jerkface.

Feeds

The Archives

Tweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Flickr

Other bloggy goodness


