Goodbye, Baldy.

March 13, 2009 at 9:28 am 8 comments

I need to sell my Baldwin piano, and fast.  I rarely play it anymore and even though I’ve had it since I was little and hate to part with it for sentimental reasons (Mom bought it for me and loved hearing me play), I can’t justify keeping it and moving it with me, especially not multiple times.   Unfortunately, I have no idea what its value is, which makes listing it for a price kind of difficult.  I know I’m not going to get full asking price or get anywhere near what my parents paid for it in 1987, so I’m resigned to sell it cheap and get it out of here.  But how cheap is too cheap?  I don’t want to give it away for free.  $500?  $800?  This is a headache, and I’ll be honest, it makes me a little teary.

Entry filed under: Daily.

That face again Excuse the scowl

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. whatigotsofar  |  March 13, 2009 at 9:56 am

    Here I sit,
    Vampire at my paino,
    Candles in the candelbra on my piano!

    So burn,
    Burn the flames,
    Higher!

    Ah, to be young again…

    Really sucks you gotta give that thing up. Piano moving is a real pain in the ass and if you don’t move it right, it’ll break. And some pianos just can’t be fixed properly.

    Reply
  • 2. Stranger  |  March 13, 2009 at 10:00 am

    Yeah, it does suck. This thing is every bit of 500lbs and I can’t move it at all, so… local pickup only! ;)

    Reply
  • 3. DarcKnyt  |  March 13, 2009 at 11:35 am

    I’m so sorry to hear you have to sacrifice this dear thing. I know how that feels; it’s never fun.

    I think you should start on eBay, finding other pianos like it to see what they’re going for. Call a few piano dealers and see what it might be worth. Put an ad in the local newspaper.

    Someone will buy it. And folks who deal in pianos can help you figure out how much it’s worth.

    Good luck.

    Reply
  • 4. Stranger  |  March 13, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Thanks, D. Feels pretty rotten, but it’s the sensible thing to do, so I will.

    I’ve been looking around on eBay and a piano like mine ranges from $600-$2800. The only way to be sure of its worth is to have it appraised, which I really don’t want to do, so I think I’m just going to list it at a price that’s low but still high enough that I won’t hate myself if it sells.

    Thanks for the good luck wishes – I think I’m going to need it.

    Reply
  • 5. DarcsFalcon  |  March 13, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    I was going to suggest calling a piano dealer too. They’d probably have the best advice. Schools or churches might be interested in buying, too. I’m sorry hon, I know it hurts. *hugs*

    With that in mind, fresh start and all, is a good thing, right?

    Reply
  • 6. Stranger  |  March 14, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    It IS a good thing – I won’t have to move a 500lb piano in the near future.

    All I want to do right now is make it sparkle and stare at it for a while. If the house were empty I’d probably play, but it isn’t and I’m too shy, so staring is all I’ll do.

    Reply
  • 7. PA  |  March 15, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    It’s so sad to hear you to sell out your piano. The who’s gonna buy will be lucky to have it. It’s very rare that such thing runs in good condition for a long time.

    Reply
  • 8. PA  |  March 15, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    It’s so sad to hear you have to sell out your piano. The who’s gonna buy will be lucky to have it. It’s very rare that such thing runs in good condition for a long time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Days Go By

March 2009
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

About

Stranger obviously isn't my real name, but it's close enough. I'm a woman in my late twenties, live in the midwest, and I blog a lot about nothing, although not often. You're welcome.

Questions, love letters, and hate mail can be sent to: typewords at gmail.com, and I can be found on Twitter.

Finally, my only rule for commenting is: play nice and don't be a jerkface.

Feeds

The Archives

Tweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Flickr

Other bloggy goodness


