Tweet tweet.

April 3, 2009 at 9:49 am 6 comments

My sister bought two Budgies yesterday.  Our Grandma had a huge bird named Polly for years that would say things like “Elvis?  Is that YOU?!”  I wasn’t a fan of the bird because it looked like it would take off one of my fingers if it had the chance, and I’m not a big fan of birds in general.  Plus, I think it’s kind of mean to keep something in a cage that was meant to fly.  It bugs me.  My sister’s argument to this was, “but you keep Wally!  and the cats!”  True, I do, but they aren’t in a tiny cage.  They have free roam of the house, a huge backyard and two of them have free roam of the neighborhood and they come back.  I think they like it here.  Especially now that there are two birds that they see as snacks in a cage, which somehow ended up in MY bedroom.  One of the cats sat outside my bedroom and meowed and pawed at the door all night and the birds haven’t chirped once until this morning.

So.. birds.  They’re not my thing.  My sister takes after my Grandma and loves them and I do not.   This morning one of them perched on my finger and wouldn’t get off of it, and as sweet as it as, I’m still on the bird’s side.  I talked to them and told them I’d bust them out as soon as their poor clipped wings grow back and we find ourselves living in Australia.

Entry filed under: Daily.

The longest year of my life. You knew this was coming.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DarcKnyt  |  April 3, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Yeah, not a fan of keeping birds as pets. Gotta agree with ya on that one. But … why are they in YOUR room? That’d be the FIRST situation I’d change for them. ;)

    Reply
  • 2. whatigotsofar  |  April 3, 2009 at 11:47 am

    what are you thoughts on pet fish?
    if i let them out of their pool, they’ll die. if i bring them to an nearby pond, i’ll have to leash ’em to get ’em back. and being outdoors puts them at risk from predatory birds. hell, being in my pond in the backyard is a risk from birds.

    Reply
  • 3. Stranger  |  April 3, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    DK – Not sure what they’re doing in my room. I asked my sister this morning where she’s going to keep them and she said, “I like them in your room” and I told her that wasn’t going to happen again. They weren’t bad birds and they didn’t keep me up all night, but I don’t want to be responsible for them when they aren’t mine.

    WIGSF – My thoughts on fish are: good with tartar sauce.

    Reply
  • 4. DarcsFalcon  |  April 4, 2009 at 12:42 am

    I had birds when I was a kid. They were neat, but … I dunno, not great pets I guess, hard to play with. And there’s just something about a bird in a cage that makes me sad. So Australia sounds like a definite plan to me. Plus, I hear Aussie guys are hawt. ;)

    Reply
  • 5. Stranger  |  April 4, 2009 at 3:37 am

    I think birds are pretty, but I never understood the idea of having them as pets. I’m with you when it comes to caging them.. it’s sad and I think a little cruel. I’m glad there’s two of them so at least they won’t be lonely.

    As for Aussie guys, I heard that too, but I’m smitten with my American Boy. He’s sexay.

    Reply
  • 6. Stranger  |  April 4, 2009 at 3:38 am

    Oh, and I did let them out of the cage in my bedroom for an hour. And I found a youtube video of budgies singing and they chirped like crazy, so I think they liked it. Doing my best!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Days Go By

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

About

Stranger obviously isn't my real name, but it's close enough. I'm a woman in my late twenties, live in the midwest, and I blog a lot about nothing, although not often. You're welcome.

Questions, love letters, and hate mail can be sent to: typewords at gmail.com, and I can be found on Twitter.

Finally, my only rule for commenting is: play nice and don't be a jerkface.

Feeds

The Archives

Tweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Flickr

Other bloggy goodness


