Not feeling at home, sweet home.

May 1, 2009 at 9:35 am 13 comments

I moved.  Question to no one in particular:  how long after moving does it take you to feel at home and not a guest in a strange place?

There are some serious lighting issues in this apartment.  In my bedroom there are no lights at all, but curiously, there IS a light switch.  I thought that when I moved in and plugged a lamp in to one of the sockets that the light switch would be useful for turning on the lamp, but that turned out to be false.  The light switch is there to look pretty and remind me of a time (a better time) when a light switch served a purpose and a home felt like a home.

Maybe things will feel better once Molly and Wally come over later today.  There was an issue with the pet deposit – it cost $200 for the option to have a pet, but I guess I was confused because I thought $200 and I could have both pets.  Turns out, it’s $200 PER pet.  After the move, I am so broke my wallet makes screeching noises when I open it, so Wally can thank The Guy for being my hero and coming to my rescue on this one.   He’s like a knight in shining armour on a white horse with a $200 check.  Not sure how my ass got this lucky, but I’ll take it.

Saving the best for last.. I’ve never been the kind of person who feels comfortable enough to poop anywhere.  Never did it at work, or in public restrooms, friend’s places, etc.  As you can imagine, it’s not happening here either.   Not feeling at home is making me constipated.   Bodies!  Fun stuff.

Entry filed under: Daily.

Derby Festival is serious business. I work hard for the money. So hard for it, honey.

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dylan555  |  May 1, 2009 at 9:50 am

    I moved a gazillion times as a kid and usually after a few nights sleep and some unpacking it felt like home. Your stuff and pets will be the big help.

    Reply
    • 2. Stranger  |  May 1, 2009 at 3:39 pm

      You’re right. Once Molly and Wally get their asses over here and we have a cuddle, I’ll probably feel right at home.

  • 3. whatigotsofar  |  May 1, 2009 at 11:34 am

    I totally get the can’t poop there thing.

    Reply
    • 4. Stranger  |  May 1, 2009 at 3:39 pm

      Finally, some sympathy! No one else I told seems to get it, but my body refuses to function in this apartment. It’s on strike.

  • 5. DarcKnyt  |  May 1, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    The constipation issue sounds like a great game show concept. Who can go the longest before they black out from toxins?

    As for feeling at home … I think that depends on whether you like the place or not. Sometimes it’s a matter of feeling settled. Other times it just doesn’t happen. I lived in an apartment for a year and never considered it home.

    I did poop there though.

    Best of luck sweetie.

    Reply
    • 6. whatigotsofar  |  May 1, 2009 at 1:27 pm

      You know Darc, there is a show like that involving vomit. Grand prize is 1000 of your American dollars. Doesn’t seem worth it.

    • 7. Stranger  |  May 1, 2009 at 3:41 pm

      Who can go the longest…

      Day three for me and counting. Where’s my prize??

      As for the apartment.. it’s nice! I actually like it quite a bit. Neighors are questionable (one man was maced by the police yesterday), but I keep to myself so that doesn’t matter.

      Thanks for the luck. :)

  • 8. Michelle  |  May 1, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    I’ve moved a bunch of times in my life. I can’t recall a particular amount of time it takes to feel at home.. like it’s MY home – but it’s a few months for me.. maybe around the 6 mth mark I suddenly realise I’ve been calling this new place “home”.

    I know that in the first week or so I tend to whisper – as if I’m staying at someone else’s place – probably thinking everything is too good to be true and someone is going to change their mind about selling me their home.

    We’ve (me Fox ‘n’ Willo) have been at our new apartment since the end of January – and I’m starting to feel like it’s home.. but also suffering from “this is too good to be true”

    We didn’t have to pay a bond for the dog but mostly cos WE DIDN’T TELL THEM ABOUT THE DOG!

    hehe.

    I like when you blog.

    Reply
    • 9. Stranger  |  May 2, 2009 at 1:25 pm

      I haven’t been whispering, but I’ve been tiptoeing!

      How do you keep Jet a secret? I was thinking about doing that with one of the cats but I’m not ballsy enough.

      I like when you blog too, but neither of us do it often. We should combine forces.

  • 10. DarcsFalcon  |  May 2, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    I think once your stuff is set up, and your furry babies are there you’ll feel more at home in your new place. And your body will follow through once you get your shampoo bottles and stuff in the shower, your toothbrush next to the sink, and your own brand of TP on the roll.

    Can you paint? Maybe that might help too.

    *hugs* I hope you feel settled soon hon, you deserve it!

    Reply
  • 11. Virgilius Sade  |  May 4, 2009 at 3:44 am

    It takes a year to be settled, if you don’t get disturbed by what could have happened to the last tenants of the house. Not to mention the strange smells within the unoccupied rooms.

    Reply
  • 12. Intelligence Is A Curse  |  May 12, 2009 at 11:34 am

    I’ve moved more than most and half a dozen of those moves were to different countries.

    When my family and I first moved to Korea, we were calling our hotel room home within the first two weeks.

    When we moved to Guam we definitely called our “house” home within 3 days.

    I guess that’s just the joy of moving around so much.

    Reply
  • 13. Amy  |  June 8, 2009 at 12:47 am

    You know I moved from Melbourne to Brisbane 3 years ago and my “not feeling at home” has never waiver. I am still as homesick as I ever was and I know now this place is not right for me. I think you know pretty much straight away. I knew within 3 months.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Days Go By

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

About

Stranger obviously isn't my real name, but it's close enough. I'm a woman in my late twenties, live in the midwest, and I blog a lot about nothing, although not often. You're welcome.

Questions, love letters, and hate mail can be sent to: typewords at gmail.com, and I can be found on Twitter.

Finally, my only rule for commenting is: play nice and don't be a jerkface.

Feeds

The Archives

Tweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Flickr

Other bloggy goodness


