What I’ve been up to

June 10, 2009 at 11:34 pm 4 comments

Working.  A lot.  And worrying about money.  The two go hand in hand.

I’m free for the next two days with no obligations and I plan on enjoying every damn second of it.  Tonight I went to buy some healthy snacks and walked out of the store $130 poorer.  How does salads, veggies, fruits, a single curtain and a Boston Creme Pie add up to that?  I still can’t figure it out.  Oh well.  The fridge is stocked with baby carrots, grapefruit, lemons, grapes, cucumbers, etc.  I know the Boston Creme Pie isn’t exactly a healthy snack, but I’m no saint.  Ok, ok.  And a bag of Dorito’s that’s flavored like tacos.  Sue me.

My sister thought it would be a good idea to bring a tiny kitten home last week.   I came home from work and this kitten was just sitting there, being cute like kittens are, and then I noticed that one of it’s little eyes was sealed shut with dried puss and oozing.   I mentioned this to my wonderful sister who replied, “Oh, I didn’t notice.”  How do you NOT notice?   So, I spent $90 taking the poor thing to the vet.   She sneezed the whole way there but she gets to keep her yucky eye.  Her name is Smokey, but I don’t call her that.  I call her Bandit because she has the one good eye, and we have cuddle parties.   She likes to climb up on my shoulder, curl up under my hair and purr against my ear.  It tickles.  I’ll take pictures of her soonish.

Entry filed under: Daily.

This happens a lot Strange ducklings

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DarcsFalcon  |  June 11, 2009 at 2:10 am

    I can relate to the worrying about money part! Seems to be the bane of many people’s existence these days. I hope things stabilize for you soon hon.

    I can’t wait to see pics of your new furry baby. She sounds so cute. :)

    Enjoy the pie and chips – sounds like my kind of party. :)

    Reply
  • 2. whatigotsofar  |  June 11, 2009 at 3:57 am

    My cat is about to have kittens. Want some more?

    Reply
  • 3. DarcKnyt  |  June 11, 2009 at 11:01 am

    Mmm … Boston Creme Pie. You’re a woman after my own sweets.

    Enjoy the new addition, and I hope your situation improves. I know what a slave-driver money worry can be.

    Reply
  • 4. Virgilius Sade  |  June 17, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    I want to see the kitten! I hope the eye is alright :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Days Go By

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

About

Stranger obviously isn't my real name, but it's close enough. I'm a woman in my late twenties, live in the midwest, and I blog a lot about nothing, although not often. You're welcome.

Questions, love letters, and hate mail can be sent to: typewords at gmail.com, and I can be found on Twitter.

Finally, my only rule for commenting is: play nice and don't be a jerkface.

Feeds

The Archives

Tweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Flickr

Other bloggy goodness


