Road trip

July 1, 2009 at 8:29 am 5 comments

I’m taking a little vacation down to Florida in 11 days.  My sister and oldest nephew are coming with me and we’re driving the whole way there.  Well, I am.  The nephew is still a kid and the sister is an inexperienced driver, so I’ll be manning the wheel for 17 hours.  The plan is to leave on the 12th at about 3am, and drive for 10 hours down to Savannah, Georgia and stay the night in a hotel after walking around indulging in a little southern hospitality.  The following day, driving another 7 hours down to Florida to see my Dad.   I’m very excited about this trip.

The obvious problem:  how do you keep an autistic kid entertained in a car for 10 hours on one day, and 7 hours the next?  I suspect someone will have Grumpypants Syndrome.   That, or he’ll be super hyper from all the exictement of new places and the promise of seeing his Grandpa, and Hyperpants is about as bad as Grumpypants.  Part of the appeal of leaving at 3am is knowing he’ll sleep in the car part of the way on the first day, and the other part of the appeal means we’ll get to Savannah early enough to do a little sightseeing.   After being in a car for 10 hours, I’m betting we’ll all be very happy to put on our walking shoes.

The other problem:  what are good places to see in Savannah?  Budget is tight, so we’re going with the free touristy stuff like walking around and taking in the beauty of the town, but where is the most beautiful?   We’re only there for one day and I want to make the most of it.  I was thinking of Forsyth Park and just walking around to see the old houses and mansions, but which streets should I focus on and which streets should I steer clear of?   I don’t want to waste time, you know?

The Florida portion of the trip is pretty easy – we’re seeing my Dad and hitting the beach.   Let’s hope this is different from the last time I was in Florida when I spent three days in a hotel, unable to move from all the blisters on my sunburned skin.

Entry filed under: Daily.

Where I worry about my cat, like the crazy cat lady that I am I’ll probably come back with Syphillus

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DarcsFalcon  |  July 1, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    Have you seen this site? http://www.savannahvisit.com/ They might have some ideas for you.

    Drive carefully young lady – but then you knew I’d say that. :)

    I hope you all have a wonderful time and that you don’t get too sunburned, and that things go smoothly with Mr Grumpy/Antsypants. Hopefully he’ll be able to stay relatively calm on the journey.

    Safe travels sweetie!

    Reply
  • 2. Stranger  |  July 1, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    Thanks! and yes, I’ve been checking out that site quite a bit lately. I think we’ll do the Trolley thing and just mosey around the town as much as we can. there isn’t a whole lot we can do on one day after a long drive.

    i’ll be safe! promise. :)

    Reply
    • 3. DarcsFalcon  |  July 1, 2009 at 5:14 pm

      After a long day driving, you’ll all probably just want to eat and relax. :)

  • 4. Tellie  |  July 1, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    Have fun in Florida. I don’t know the answer to either of those questions. But maybe a portable DVD player will come in handy? Not sure, but it’s worth a shot.

    Have a safe trip!

    Reply
  • 5. Vanessa  |  July 2, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    Just head to historic downtown Savannah. Visit all the squares and wander aimlessly. You will love it. SO many shops. And go have breakfast at the restaurant Jenny worked at in Forrest Gump. I wish I could remember the name! People will know it though. I LOVE Savannah.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Days Go By

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

About

Stranger obviously isn't my real name, but it's close enough. I'm a woman in my late twenties, live in the midwest, and I blog a lot about nothing, although not often. You're welcome.

Questions, love letters, and hate mail can be sent to: typewords at gmail.com, and I can be found on Twitter.

Finally, my only rule for commenting is: play nice and don't be a jerkface.

Feeds

The Archives

Tweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Flickr

Other bloggy goodness


