Wind beneath my wings

July 8, 2009 at 12:28 pm 3 comments

Do you realize that I am 29 years old, and this upcoming trip is my first adult vacation where I actually GO somewhere?  It’s wildly exciting and I am excited.  I was six years old the  last time I went somewhere on vacation, also to Florida, but there’s nothing enjoyable about being six, sunburned, and in a hotel for two days because there’s a blister that stretched from one shoulder to the other on my back.   This was in the 80’s, back before the time of sunscreen, apparently.  This time the Florida sun will be kind to me.  SPF 50 guarantees it.

As for the hotel I mentioned a few posts back, that isn’t happening anymore.  The Guy insisted that I stay somewhere else and he booked two rooms at the Inn at Ellis Square for my sister and I, and it most certainly is an upgrade.   Besides the obvious lack of health concerns, the best part of this hotel is the location.  It’s right by everything I want to see, but now I wish I had more time in Savannah.    He also bought me a Savannah guidebook as a gift, and the more I read it the longer I want to stay.  I’m in love with a city I’ve never been to.  Don’t disappoint me, Savannah.  This heart of mine is fragile.

It also seems as though I’m a little anal in the planning department.  I’m one of those people now, but what can I say?  There’s a lot of satisfaction in making a list and crossing things off.  Mostly the lists are things I need to do before the trip, what to buy, what to pack, directions and backup routes, emergency numbers, reservation and confirmation numbers, etc.  Don’t get me wrong – there isn’t an itinerary of any kind.  Once we reach our destinations we’ll play it fast & loose, I think.   The Savannah Plan is to walk around and walk around some more, and maybe drive out to Bonaventure Cemetery.  That kind of thing.  Florida’s plan is beach, family time, snorkeling, zoo and some kind of safari adventure that my Dad insists we do.

There will be lots of picture taking too, I assure you.  Buying another memory card is on the list.  I’ll cross it off tomorrow.

By the way, I know the lists are kind of unnecessary but I do it because it keeps me focused on being happy and excited.  The sister and nephew don’t seem excited at all and have barely mentioned it.   In fact, the only time my sister seemed excited was last night after some drinks, but she was drunk and excited about everything so it doesn’t really count.   I put on my best Aren’t You Excited?! face to my nephew and all he says is “yeah” before walking away.  That’s it, people?  That’s all the excitement you got?  Well, you’re not bringing me down.  I’ll make lists and be excited with my notepad & pen, all by myself.

Entry filed under: Daily.

The weather forecast for my stay in Sunny Florida Honey, I’m HOME!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DarcKnyt  |  July 8, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    That’s right! Who needs others to be excited? Get happy and antsy and all giddy all by your bad self! You deserve to after what you’ve been through over the last year or more.

    So have a GREAT time and I can’t wait to see the pics and the posts about the trip! :)

    Reply
  • 2. DarcsFalcon  |  July 8, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    After the last couple of years you’ve had, you DESERVE to have a great vacation! Good for you! You’re entitled to an awesome time and let no one stand in your way! Dance on the beach and shout with joy!

    Lists are awesome – they keep you on track of what needs to be done and give you a sense of accomplishment when you cross something off. I don’t understand why so many make fun of them. They’re sort of like little papery security blankets. :)

    Have a GREAT time sweetie. *hugs*

    Reply
  • 3. Stranger  |  July 10, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    Darc & Falcon – Thanks, you two! We’ll be in the car in 32 hours and everyone else is cranky and unexcited. I swear, they better lighten up or I’m going by myself.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Days Go By

July 2009
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

About

Stranger obviously isn't my real name, but it's close enough. I'm a woman in my late twenties, live in the midwest, and I blog a lot about nothing, although not often. You're welcome.

Questions, love letters, and hate mail can be sent to: typewords at gmail.com, and I can be found on Twitter.

Finally, my only rule for commenting is: play nice and don't be a jerkface.

Feeds

The Archives

Recent Flickr

Other bloggy goodness